Stephen Inglis Cuts the Dead Some Slack

Stephen Inglis manages to find open space in the sometimes crowded field of Grateful Dead tributes. On Cut the Dead Some Slack, the Honolulu-based troubadour (with vocal harmony assistance from radio host and musician David Gans) offers a pleasing array of acoustic-based songs, demonstrating his dexterous chops on Hawaiian slack key guitar, guitarlele and the good old six string. The two-disc release features refreshing interpretations of “Scarlet Begonias,” “Lazy River Road,” “Days Between,” “Brokedown Palace,” “Standing on the Moon” and several other Grateful Dead classics. The release also features bonus material comprising a few compelling full-band takes on “Birdsong,” “Stella Blue” and another pass through “Days Between,” by The Stephen Inglis Project, which brings in Gans (on guitar), Eric Peterson (keyboards), Jon Hawes, (bass) and Steve Howells (drums). It’s rewarding listening all around.

Cut the Dead Some Slack. Available on Rhythm and Roots Records

Disc 1

  1. Scarlet Begonias
  2. Lazy River Road
  3. Cassidy
  4. Ship of Fools
  5. Days Between
  6. Ripple
  7. Dark Star>
  8. Wharf Rat>
  9. Dark Star
  10. Brokedown Palace

Disc 2

    1. Bertha>
    1. Standing on the Moon
  1. It Must Have Been the Roses

Bonus Live Tracks:

Stephen Inglis Project Featuring David Gans


Stella Blue

Days Between 

Author: Hutchmun

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.